BHU faculty members elected as fellow of the prestigious Indian National Science Academy

BHU faculty members elected as fellow of the prestigious Indian National Science Academy

Members of BHU fraternity have time and again made the varsity proud by their contributions in academics and research at national and international levels. This contribution brings laurels to Banaras Hindu University as it gets acknowledged by renowned bodies and institutions. In another shining example of the acknowledgement to BHU’s faculty, two senior professors from the university have been elected fellows of the Indian National Science Academy.

Prof. D. S. Pandey, Department of Chemistry, Institute of Science, and Prof. R. K. Srivastava, Department of Geology, Institute of Science, have been inducted as fellows of the prestigious body. Established in the year 1935, the academy works for promotion of science in India and harnessing scientific knowledge for the cause of humanity and national welfare.

The academy, while announcing the election of Prof. Daya Shankar Pandey, noted his significant contribution in diverse areas of chemistry and their applications in various fields. Prof. Pandey, also a recipient of several renowned awards and accolades for research, has over 160 publications in national and international journals to his credit and over 3500 citations. He is also a fellow of various reputed science bodies including Academy of Sciences and National Academy of Sciences.

Declaring the election of Prof. Rajesh Kumar Srivastava as its fellow, the Indian National Science Academy said that Prof. Srivastava made substantive contributions to studies on various spheres of geology. His contributions have had a profound global impact on the understanding of sub-continental mantle reservoirs, large igneous provinces, Precambrian tectonics and supercontinent reconstruction, the academy added. Prof. Srivastava is also an elected fellow of two premier Science Academies - the Indian Academy of Sciences and the National Academy of Sciences, India. He has published more than 150 research publications in a number of Journals of repute. Prof. Srivastava received the award for his induction as fellow of INSA at a ceremony in Visakhapatnam on Friday.

Vice-Chancellor Prof. Sudhir Kumar Jain has congratulated Prof. Pandey and Prof. Srivastava on their election as fellows of the renowned academy. Prof. Jain has time and again stated that the university is doing all that is required to create opportunities for its students and faculty members so as to take the university to greater heights and facilitate them in their quest for excellence.

Prof. Anil Kumar Tripathi, Director, Institute of Science, said that the election of the two eminent members of the institute to INSA has brought immense joy and pride to everyone.  Prof. Madhoolika Agrawal, Dean, Faculty of Science, has also congratulated them.